Butler wins first conference series with 13-7 win over Pratt

Butler wins first conference series with 13-7 win over Pratt

Butler baseball picked up first Jayhawk Conference series win of the 2017 season on Tuesday with a 13-7 victory over Pratt at McDonald Stadium.

The Grizzlies (16-22 overall, 8-16 conference) rallied from a 5-0 deficit midway through the contest with a six-run fifth inning and added five insurance runs in the eighth to pull away for the win.

Jackson Soule led Butler offensively with a 4-for-5 performance, two doubles, a triple and a season-high six RBI, while Javis Larson was 3-for-5 with three runs scored.

Pratt took a 3-0 lead after two innings behind a two-run home run by Michael Davis and a solo homer from Tynan Hofferle - both off Grizzly starter Nathan Russell. In the top of the fifth, Josh Jones hit a two-run single to left to put the Beavers up 5-0.

Butler loaded the bases in the bottom of the inning behind a walk, hit by pitch and a Mason Goade single with no outs. Garrett Chalker then cleared the bases with a three-run double to center. Larson follwed with an infield RBI single to put Butler within a run.

After a pitching change, Soule singled to center to score Larson and Caleb Cox to give the Grizzlies the lead.

Butler extended the lead to 8-5 in the sixth on RBI doubles by Tanner White and Soule.

Up 8-7 in the eighth, the Grizzlies added five runs on two big hits from Soule and Connor Hurst. With the bases loaded and one out, Soule tripled to right to drive in all three runs. Hurst followed with a two-run home run to left-center.

Travis Hennessy came up huge out of the bullpen, as Pratt stranded seven runners - including two each in innings 3-5. The sophomore righthander was credited with the win, giving up four earned runs on eight hits and striking out five in 5 2/3 innings. Cody Bush came in to throw two shutout innings, allowing just one hit.

Butler will continue Jayhawk Conference play on Friday with a doubleheader against Colby. First pitch from McDonald Stadium is at 1:00 p.m.